Embracing Change

My husband watches all types of sports. Of all the sports games he watches, baseball use to be my least favorite. That is until he explained the game to me. Here is what I learned (I think). The pitcher can throw basically 1 of 3 pitches: a fastball, curve ball or a change-up ball. Some fastballs are thrown in excess of 80 miles an hour. A curve ball curves in different directions. The change-up pitch is when a pitcher who throws very fast confuses the batter by pitching an unexpected slow ball. The job of the batter is to “keep his eyes on the ball” and anticipate when to swing to get the best hit.
Aha! That is how I should embrace change, by keeping my eyes on the ball (my goals)! Life has a way of throwing us fastballs, curve balls, or change-up balls. Sometimes we misjudge the pitch and swing when we shouldn’t. Sometimes life throws us a pitch so wild that it hits us unexpectedly. Then there are those times when we get just the right ball and we knock it out the park! No matter what life has thrown your way, remember, as long as you stay in the game, you get another chance to bat.

Leave a Reply

