Share Your Story

When I was a teen, my friends and I would play the game truth or dare. You know the game. Someone would ask you a question (usually personal or embarrassing) and to avoid answering truthfully you accepted a dare, usually something crazy like runny outside topless (I know mom, that’s just foolish). Most times the dare was accepted because the truth carried with it shame or embarrassment that was too difficult for you to handle. Well ladies, might I submit that this same mindset can follow you right into adulthood.
Many of us are not sharing struggles or situations that have occurred in our lives because we are too embarrassed to say, out loud, that we experienced THAT. I am not suggesting that you air your dirty laundry to any and everyone that inquires. All I’m saying is we must keep it real if we are to truly make a difference in someone’s life, especially those we are closest to. There are women in your circle who need to know how you did it. How did you deal with the abuse you experienced? How were you able to restore the trust in your marriage after it was broken by infidelity? How did you find faith in God again after hearing from the doctor that you had cancer? How were you able to forgive a friend who dismissed you without so much as an explanation? How were you able to love again after your spouse died? What kept you going after you lost your job and had to foreclose on your home? How did you overcome and change your life to make it better?
I believe God allows us to go through difficult things in life so that we can learn to depend on him, but sometimes he allows challenges to come our way so that our lives can become an example for someone else. God works through you and me. How would I know how to encourage another concerning faith unless my own faith has been put to the test?
I encourage you to live a transparent life. This does not mean you tell everything to everybody. It means you minister to those who need your story. There is a story in the bible about a Samaritan woman who had an encounter with Jesus. She is described in the bible as the woman at the well. If you read the story, you will find she lived a life of shame and embarrassment. However, after meeting Jesus and talking with him her life was changed and she changed the lives of many people in her circle. Luke 4:39a says, “Many of the Samaritans from the town believed in him because of the woman’s testimony.” So go ahead ladies and share your victories. There is another who needs to hear your testimony.

5 thoughts on “Share Your Story”

  1. This is so true! We have to get “passed” inorder to get “to God” and obstacles in life will come. That is a guarantee!!
    But it is your “made up mind” that determines how you will handle the obstacle and move forward.

    Transparency to yourself and others is key to continual GROWTH!!

  2. Okay, this is exactly what I needed today. I was following the thread on authenticity on Twitter and spotted your link! I could just hear the LORD whispering these words to me.

    He is all about relationships: Difficult times invite us to His side … Overcoming invites us to come along side and to minister to those in need.

    ♥ Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of joy. ~Psalm 126:5

  3. After hurricane Katrina, we moved to So. Cal. I leaned too much on a friend and feelings began to grow. Luckily, I’ve learned from others mistakes and because of that I thought deeply on — where my life would be if I took this path or where my life would be if my feelings for this person were found out — before things got out of hand. I took the tough road, and I thank God for that. I chose to face it head on by telling my husband the feelings that I was having, letting him know what I thought was lacking in our relationship and asking him and God for forgiveness. Today, our marriage is stronger because of it. It was a rough road for about a year. The best way to build trust back up is to prove that you’re trustworthy and not getting upset when the other person questions about things that they think are “suspicious.” To me, earning the trust back was a lot easier than forgiving myself; I’m still working on that. Step by step.

Leave a Reply

