Finding Your Vision

What’s your vision for your life? This question was posed to me by a friend and I must say it started me thinking about where I’ve been and where I’m going. I started this year off with a vision board for my life and while we’re only a few months into the New Year, I’ve already had to be reminded of my goals. Thank God for an accountability partner to help me stay focused and on track. So, I pose the question to all of you. What is your vision for your life? Have you gotten off track when it comes to your future and goals? Have you even thought about what you would like your life to be like? Some of you may say, “How can I even think about vision, dreams, and goals when I’m just trying to maintain”, especially in this economy? Let me assure you that you should be thinking and planning for your future, especially in this current economy. Now is the time to make assessments concerning your life and make the necessary adjustments for your future. Life becomes what you make it and everyone should have a vision. Are you using your skills and wisdom to make your life what you want it to be? Have you considered modifying your life in order to gain the knowledge and skills you need to see your dreams become reality? Having vision means you have a mental picture of what you want from life. It’s the ability to see life as it could be. It involves seizing your imagination, foresight and discernment and strategically clarifying your purpose. But how do you know what YOUR vision really is? A clear vision is one you can articulate to others. It should inspire you and others to take action. If you need help clarifying your vision try this exercise.
1. Write down at least 3 things you would do if you had the time, money, and skills you needed.
2. Make a list of your talents and/or God given gifts. Have you allowed any gift or talent to lie dormant?
3. What gets you excited or energizes you? This may help you identify what you are passionate about.
4. Try something you’ve always wanted to try. This could be something you’ve always wanted to do but were too afraid to try.

Give this exercise a try and let me know if it helps to get you into a vision mindset.

2 thoughts on “Finding Your Vision”

Leave a Reply

