The Cadillac Culinary Challenge

After blogging for about eight months, I’ve come to realize that although I’m a fan of the social media arena, I love interacting with people face to face.  There is nothing better than meeting someone for the first time and listening to them describe their life.  So, I’m on a mission to take healasister outside the blogging sphere and into the community.  More community involvement means saying yes to almost every event that’s in line with the goals of my blog. Enter, the Cadillac Culinary Challenge in the Woodlands this weekend.  If you missed the event you missed and event filled with great fun, fabulous cars, and wonderful food (oh, and I mean wonderful).

First we enjoyed a wonderful lunch at Fleming’s Steakhouse. Here are a few pictures of the great food.

I have this thing about taking pictures of my food. The first dish is a steak cooked to perfection and topped with jumbo lump crab, fresh green beans and Fleming’s potatoes.  The second is New York style cheesecake. This was hands down the best cheesecake I’ve ever eaten.  Yes, that’s shaved white chocolate on top and blueberry sauce covering the cheesecake.  OMG!  It was scrum-deli-ishously-yummy!  I know that’s not a word, but for all practical purposes, let’s just go with it.

After that fabulous lunch can you believe we ate more food?  Yes!  Food prepared by two award-winning Houston chefs, Chef David Denis of Le Mistral’s www.lemistralhouson.com and Chef Justin Basye of Stella Sola- www.stellasolahouston.com The two prepared their dishes for the culinary challenge.  I was given the honor of being on the judging panel and let me tell you it was definitely an honor.  Both dishes were just wonderful.  Here is what they prepared.

Chef David Denis’ Texas Goat Cheese, Portobello Mushroom, Polenta Terrine, Smoked Local Teardrop Tomato Broth

This dish was so unexpected.  If I didn’t know any better, I would think the mushroom in this was actually meat.  It had a smooth creamy texture and I don’t have to tell you how beautiful it looked.  Now I understand why some animals snarl when you remove their food too soon.  One of the chef’s assistants asked for my plate before I cleaned it.  I was prepared to take him out if necessary!

Chef Justin Basye’s Smoked Tomato Gazpacho
This Gazpacho was so refreshing.  It made for a great summer dish.  Part of the preparation involved soaked wood chips. The combination of the corn and the tomatoes was delicious.  Again, I ate the entire plate.  Just plain umm-umm good!

Thirdly, I got a chance to test drive a fabulous car, the Cadillac SRX Crossover vehicle.  It was loaded with great features.  Some of my favorites include the tilt-adjustable telescopic steering wheel and the power adjustable pedals with memory.  I also like the dual side-by-side navigation screen. It’s a smooth ride and I also love the power lift gate with memory height.

Now, I know many of you may wonder how this event relates to the healasister blog.  Well sometimes a sister has to do something different in order to heal her soul.  Sometimes that means eating a new dish, meeting new people and it may even include driving a new car, even if it’s only for a test drive!  So ladies get out and try something new.  You might just find healing!

Thank you to Cadillac and all the wonderful people for a great day!

One thought on “The Cadillac Culinary Challenge”

  1. This seemed like a wonderful event. I am glad you were able to meet new people and get outside of your “comfort zone” and heal the soul. There are so many activities that women can get involved in that will give them a “fresh” look on life.

    BTW…love the new look of your blog. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

