Opportunity

“What you’ve been hiding from can actually give you what you’ve been trying hard to achieve.” I read this quote today and it spoke to me. Hiding? I asked myself the question out loud, “have I been hiding from anything”? Immediately I received the answer, “yes indeed missy you have been hiding.” “From what”? I asked. Answer…”from what you’ve been given… opportunity.”
God has gifted each of us with talents and opportunities. The question is how are we utilizing these gifts? If you are like me, you might be hiding from some opportunity because you really don’t know if you can handle adding another thing to do to your life. I mean, it may take too much work and you just want an easy life (I can be lazy sometimes). You may feel that people really don’t appreciate what you have to offer or maybe you’re afraid, afraid to try something different because you have failed in the past.
As I pondered this quote I went a parable in the Bible that further enlightened me. Matthew 25:14-28. The parable of the talents tells the story of a man who gave three of his workers money (talents) while he went on a journey to handle other business. He entrusted his money to the workers. One he gave five talents, another he gave two talents, and to the last he gave one talent. While the man was away, the first two workers utilized the opportunity to make more money for their leader. However, the worker given the one talent did not seize the opportunity given him because of fear of failure. His fear actually prompted him to hide the money in the ground. He buried it in the ground. He buried it in the ground? Is that what I have been doing?
Because he acted irresponsibly the worker who buried his talent was stripped of it and it was given to another. Don’t allow fear to cause you to miss out on the blessing God has for you. The talents in this passage can represent any opportunity or resource given to you. God gives us gifts, talents, and opportunities with the expectation that we put them to use. Hiding or burying opportunities is not only disrespectful and dismissive, it is irresponsible. Now that we know, we must no longer hide, but we must use what God has given us… Opportunity!

“What you’ve been hiding from can actually give you what you’ve been trying to achieve.”
-Debbie Ford

One thought on “Opportunity”

  1. This is so true. God gives us all gifts some recognize them right away and others it takes some time to realize. I was running away from what my gift is and only out of my own insecurities because I couldn’t be great at it all on my own. The great thing about a gift from God is that you may not know exactly how to use it but He has already equipped you with what you need for the season of life that you are in. He gives us just enough to step out on faith and trust him for the next move. He never shows you the whole story or plan. If he did then there would be no reason to trust in him because we would know the ending. As the word says, trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not to your own understanding; In all ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your path. Proverbs 3:5
    He knows our fears, failures and mistakes before we even attempt to overcome them. He is a gracious God that will never put more on you than you can bear; so if you have come to it then you can get through it!

Leave a Reply

